Adventures In New York Pt. 1

Lifestyle

This February, I decided to go to New York to visit Parson’s School of Design as well as a chance to photograph some New York Fashion Week shows. Here in this post is an account of my first day in New York City:

Day 1:

We left my house around 4:30 a.m. to go to the airport for a 6 o’clock flight to NYC. It’s pretty amazing being able to see the sunrise over New York early in the morning in an airplane. Upon arriving in New York, it was exactly what I expected but it was still something completely new to experience. I was overcome with people, taxis, and tour buses dashing through the streets. I wanted to play along and wave my hand like a typical New Yorker who needed a taxi, but there was already a taxi waiting for us. But I didn’t fret, because I would get the chance later in the day.

When we arrived at our hotel, it differentiated from typical suburban area hotels. If you could imagine a typical floor in a hotel room then squish it down to five or six rooms on each floor, that was our hotel. Never mind though, because we would be too busy running around all day anyways.

Our first priority of the day was arriving at Parson’s on time for a tour. I fell in love with the school the minute we stepped around the corner and looked at the architecture of the building; it was so modern and sleek. It only got even better when we went inside, and as she explained all the opportunities they have there, I knew that this would be an amazing place for me with professors who had real world experiences. I later learned that some of the professors used to be editors of big magazines such as Vogue. It was an art lover’s paradise to me. As soon as the tour was over, I talked a little more to the tour guide. Then she told me something I had been waiting for since the beginning of sophomore year. They would be having a portfolio review. The only downside was that it was in 45 minutes. That meant that I didn’t have enough time to run back to the hotel to grab my iPad for my portfolio.


I asked if I could show my portfolio on my phone, as that was my last resort, and they said yes. So 45 minutes later I was ready to go and had my portfolio in order on my phone. I had no time to panic when the admissions administrator came to view portfolios as I was the first one in line. It went surprisingly well though. From the year I discovered Parson’s in my search for art schools to that day, I never thought I would be able to stand out. But the administrator loved my portfolio and even gave me suggestions for more photoshoots I could do to improve my portfolio.

After visiting Parson’s, we went shopping in the SoHo District. It took awhile walking down there though, because we kept getting sidetracked looking at smaller boutiques we don’t have in Indiana. I found a new favorite store of mine called Nu along the way. My end goal though was to reach Topshop before closing time. I had brought a little extra cash with me to go to Topshop, hoping I would find lots of new things to add to my already excessive closet. Sadly, I didn’t have much luck in Topshop, but the next day I would find clothes and shoes from a variety of stores.


  
We ended the night by having pizza at a tiny pizza restaurant. Now, I can officially say that I’ve had NYC pizza.

I’ll have two other blog posts coming up about my trip to New York including pictures from Times Square and NYFW show. Also I’ll have my portfolio that I showed the admissions office here.
Thanks you for reading and here are my Currents of the Week:

Currently Listening to: New York City by The Chainsmokers

Currently Reading: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Currently Shopping at: Nu New York

-Lindsay

4 thoughts on “Adventures In New York Pt. 1

Leave a comment